International Anna Party 2015 

International Anna Party 2015 

I have a bit of a confession to make, whilst I had seen many lovely versions around the Internet I never really got what all the fuss was about when it came to the Anna, and to be honest I only purchased the pattern after By Hand London announced they where ceasing production of their paper patterns and thought that I should have a copy of it in my stash even just for posterity.


So when the lovely ladies Elle from Laura loves pugs , Ute and Pips from The girl in a teacup  announced an International Anna Party to celebrate both By Hand London and Elle’s pending birthday, I thought I’d give it a go. I originally planned to make my Anna in a lovely green vintage cotton blend from my stash, but during pre-wash the fabric fell apart. I was devastated and a little bit defeated but a quick trip to see the ever lovely ladies at quite possibly my favourite little fabric store The Drapery , saw me come away with 2m of some of the most scrummy Nani Iro double gauze and some new enthusiasm for The pattern.

I cut a straight US10/UK 14 and scooped the neck out around 5cm. A tissue fit saw me shorten the bust pleats about 3 cm in an attempt to avoid doing an FBA which seemed to work well. And grade the zipper around 5cm to account for my narrow shoulders, in hindsight I should have possibly done a sway back as well but will keep this in kind for next time. The dress is fully lined in some lovely oyster coloured silk from my stash which just feels devine. I also went with a gathered skirt over the included one, the dress was then finished of with an exposed metal zipper in an attempt to avoid the Nani Iro getting caught in an invisible zipper.

image


Then to top off my Anna initiation. I won a prize of 2 of the most gorgeous screen printed Lithuanian linen tea towels from bells and bee for my Anna as Magdalenesmuse’s favourite modified Anna. one of which now watches over me while I sew.


It’s safe to say I’m officially an Anna convert and can’t wait to add some more to my wardrobe.

6 thoughts on “International Anna Party 2015 

  1. I first saw your Anna at the International Anna Party and just loved it. You did a wonderful job. Like you, I had wondered what the fuss was about the pattern. I still have not tried it yet but am so leaning towards a try. Sadly I missed out on getting the paper pattern though.

    Question – for your skirt, did you just get out two rectangles and gathered them…? I would like to make mine with a gathered skirt too. Thanks!

    Like

    1. Oh thank you. You shiuld certainly five it a go. As for the skirt, Yes, it is just 2 gathered rectangles the width of fabric 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

