Deer and Doe Datura

Deer and Doe Datura

image

Anyone who follows me on instagram would know Im a dress girl through and through, I love nothing more than sewing up a pretty dress or two. 

But with my first Me Made May fast approching, the reality is, I needed some tops in my wardrobe. As much as I love making and wearing dresses they are not all that I wear, mainly because they not always practical when chasing around 2 kids under 5 years old.

Enter Deer and Doe’s Datura blouse, I wanted a sleevless some what fitted top that could easily be dressed up or down and this pattern fit the bill perfectly.
20150330_152412
The pattern had been sitting in my  stash since I purchased it on a whim from a fantastic little independant fabric store The Drapery here in Adelaide. I was initally put off by the advanced label on the pattern, but after I sat down and had a look at it I realised that this was possibly because of scarcity of the instuctions, as much as I love Deer and Doe patterns, there instuctions are certainly aimed at more experienced sewists.
2015-03-30 17.09.27
wearble muslin
My first version, I made up in amazing cloud9 geometric print voile that I broke my fabric ban for. The fabric is a little on the sheer side so to combat this I underlined it in a plain white voile.

As it was my first I followed the limited instructions with the exception of collar or cut outs and made no other alterations. The fit was ok, but it felt a little on the short side and the bust darts sat a little high.

The second version, I made up once again in a voile, this time from one of my favourites, Miss Matatabi fabrics on etsy.
2015-03-31 09.07.56
the insides of version 2
I gave up on the instructions mostly for this one, I couldnt get the shoulder seams to work right and instead, I added a seam allowance and cut the bodice back in 2 pieces instead of on the fold, this means I now have a centre back seam but its not something that bothers me so I dont mind. I also added roughly an inch to my pattern piece above the bust darts, this in turn fixed both the length and dart height I didn’t like in my first version. 

 And finally my third, is made up in some drapey checked and plain black polyester from my local spotlight, I made this one the same way as my second version complete with french seams (mainly because my overlocker currently has white thread in it, and I didnt feel like changing it haha) and buttonholes.
2015-03-31 09.06.49
french seams and buttonholes

Im still going to need some more tops in my wardrobe, but these are a start. I really like the cut and the button detail of these. And they are sure to be on high rotation for those days a pretty dress just wont cut it.

5 thoughts on “Deer and Doe Datura

  1. All your tops are just beautiful! Will definetly have to make note of this pattern. Although buttonholes and me are not friends at the moment!

    Like

    1. Thank you! You definitely should give it a try. As for the button holes, you can skip them and just sew the buttons on as they dont affect getting the top on or off 😉

      Like

  2. It is a lovely top! I don’t have near enough me made shirts in my wardrobe. I keep thinking that I’m gonna start on some of these staple items, but I’m still only just thinking about it…

    Like

Leave a Reply

